A Diabetic’s Travels to a Disney Park by Contributing Author Pam Pollaro

Well, my trip to Walt Disney World in early June was a fact finding mission – the fact is, I just wanted to go!  But on my trip, I decided I would do several things:  Look for as many sugar free items as I could, see how I did visiting for the first time wearing my insulin pump, and well, just about anything else.  I am a Type 1 Diabetic – there, I said it.  There is no 12 step program, there is no cure, but we diabetics need to watch out for a lot of things.  Hidden carbohydrates!  More carbohydrates!  And most of all, we need to watch out for the sun.  Heat can affect your glucose levels and the effectiveness of your insulin…When you travel – always request a refrigerator for medication in your hotel.  If they do not have one, choose another.  It is that important as well as having items in the event of a low blood glucose attack.

I never travel to Walt Disney World or Disneyland Resort without my trusty hat – it is kinda’ a straw type material – wide brim which always covers my ears (the real ones on the sides of my head, not the black mousketeer type) to prevent sun burn.  This hat can be smushed down in my suitcase for traveling and comes out of the bag just right.  A baseball hat works well – but remember sunscreen on the back of your neck and exposed areas.  If you are like me and fair skinned to boot – protection from the sun is a must not only for you but your insulin.  Sunscreen is next – what do they say you need to check for now?  Broad banned, broad beam, no – BROAD SPECTRUM.  Check the expiration dates!  And heed the warning – for external use only (seriously, they need to add that to the label?)   Studies have shown that the fancier, more expensive it is – does not mean it will protect you any more or any less.  The brands I use are purely my opinion and not any type of endorsement – Hawaiin Tropic 50 with hydration and Coppertone 30 for sensitive skin on my face (Oh yes, another warning label – avoid eyes…seriously?).  These are both broad spectrum types.

As for being a insulin toting diabetic –PLEASE PLEASE be sure you carry extra supplies.  NEVER EVER put any medication in a checked bag.  Get used to it – check that dang bag instead of bringing a 36 inch suitcase on an aircraft and trying to cram it in the overhead.  There are others on board who have brought the appropriate 2 bags and one fits in the overhead – stop being selfish.  In this day and age, you need to add on the cost of a checked bag when you buy your airline ticket.  Keep that amount in the back of your head so when you check in online or at the airport kiosks, you know what you have to pay.  And remember those snow globes your bought?  Can’t be brought on board that aircraft.   But I digress.  When planning your vacation – bring enough supplies for double the amount of days.  For me, I then add another 2 or three more day’s supplies.  Again, carry it on!  Keep your medication in the prescription bottle with your name clearly marked.  For insulin – I take the bottle that is not quite finished plus the additional still in their boxes with the prescription label clearly marked.  Put your medical liquids in the same sort of clear plastic as you do your other liquids.  For medical prescriptions –you are allowed an additional clear plastic quart size these have to be placed in bucker containers on the conveyor belt at security.  The TSA can usually tell it is insulin by the aluminum caps on the vials when it goes through on the conveyor belt.  Now, the insulin pump attached to me does not have to be detached.   Here is the TSA.gov page on Diabetics and supplies to be brought on board:  http://apps.tsa.dhs.gov/mytsa/cib_results.aspx?src=tsawebsite then enter insulin to get the full page

My insulin pump company does not recommend you wear it through the screening machines.  The ones that you go into and they can view your whole body with your arms up.  They do not or cannot ask you to detach your pump from your infuser attached to your body.  I always ask to be patted down.  Always!  With the travel I do for my job, I have never been hassled.  It is attitude – If you are prepared, upbeat and do whatever they ask, you are set plus I remove the clip from the back of the pump.  And yes, I get patted down on the other side of the screening machines.  I know the routines, arms out; they start at the back of your collar, back of hands, and the female TSA people laugh when I say their routine.

Have I gotten to Magic Kingdom yet?

When traveling, especially to Florida – you need to keep your insulin cool.  There are lots of freezer containers, mini ice boxes, etc.  Check the TSA.GOV website to be informed of what you can bring with your medication, pump supplies, etc.  Again, this is not an endorsement; however, I use Frio coolers.  I have always used the one for the insulin and now I used with this trip the one for my pump.  The pump needs to be kept cool as well.  The insulin pump fits in the moisture protection sleeve, which slips into the cooler, and then that slips into next sleeve.  Now, you are thinking that is a lot of bulk, I agree with you however, I’d rather the little bit extra than have my pump damaged by the heat.  This slips into my pocket.  The clip cannot attach to my pocket this way – but if you wear a belt, there are loops on the cover sleeve.

When going into the parks – I always wear a back pack.  I envy those people who can walk through the no bags line.  Be aware of First Aid stations at each park – plan ahead is the only way you can be successful in glucose control.  Be sure you have your glucose tablets with you.  There is nothing more frustrating than needing sugar because your insulin is high and your blood sugar is low and you have to wait in a line for a sugared drink.  Also in my daily pack I bring my bottle of insulin in my cooler, a set of infusers just in case, glucose tablets, alcohol wipes and syringes (again, just in case my pump goes kablooey).  Be aware of the First Aid stations – should your infuser need to be changed, it is much nicer to go to a first aid station as opposed to the rest rooms.  Here is a link to the First Aid locations – move to the bottom to see them on a map: https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/guest-services/first-aid/ Once when going through the bag check at the entrance, the security team was so nice and told me to remember where the First Aid stations are after I told them I was carrying my diabetes supplies.  Map it out, know where it is, and remember should you need it.  I have told friends that I travel with where they are and if I am in trouble to remember it.  Just like I take a picture of my parking spot and sign with my cell phone.

Am I there yet?

FINALLY inside the park – I have my plan of attack.  I check my blood sugar as heat and sun affect that.  I also have a mini carbohydrate book with me.  Before I eat, I check my sugar again and add the carbohydrates to pump into my system.  I do not do this until I sit down to eat.  To do it before I order can become dangerous as I have additional insulin but haven’t eaten yet.  Lines people, be aware of the lines.  Check, Check, Check your blood sugar throughout the day.  Rushing, running, heat; humidity can play havoc on your blood sugar.  Back in June I was using less insulin because of the exercise I was getting.  And I check again before and 20 minutes after my DOLEWHIP….

Always check with your diabetes educator or your endocrinologist – one person’s diabetes and reaction is not the same for all.  I am a trainer of travel consultants, not a doctor, not a nurse, not a diabetes educator – I am just merely a Type 1 Diabetic who doesn’t let that hold her back.

If you are a diabetic, you know what you need to do.  Say it loud and say it proud!  We are a very elite group.   If you are traveling with family – they know what they need to do in an emergency, they know the drill.  If traveling with friends, make them aware, if they are your friends they will pay attention.

Here is my Walt Disney World checklist:

  • Backpack
  • Double the insulin needed for the time spent away
  • Double the infuser supplies, IV prep, alcohol wipes
  • Double the test strips
  • Bring another glucose meter in addition to your regular one (you just never know, just in case)
  • Extra batteries for the pump and meter (mine work in tandem)
  • Full bottle of Glucose tablets
  • Travel container for Glucose tablets on a daily basis – refill every night
  • A package of syringes ‘just in case’
  • 50 sunscreen in plastic bag – It always happens that it opens up in my suitcase when not in a plastic bag
  • 30 sunscreen for my face – ditto about the bag
  • Set alarm on cell phone to remind me to apply more sunscreen and check blood glucose
  • List of medications and their doses
  • List of the basel and the bolus that is loaded into your pump.
  • List of doctors at home
  • List of medical history
  • Map of First Aid stations.
  • My hat!
  • Baby wipes – yep, they are great to wipe hands, face, arms when you are feeling sticky but it’s nothing to do with Diabetes.

As far as sugar free is concerned – Dole Whip is not….bummer, but I check glucose before I eat it and 20 minutes afterwards so I can judge if I need additional bolus.  I always plan to have it in the mid to late afternoon

The frozen fruit bars sold in the carts around all parks are noted as sugar free.  But here is a word of caution – don’t unwrap it immediately and start to eat it.  A friend got her tongue stuck to it just like the winter when you would stick your tongue to the sled.

The sugar free ice cream throughout all 4 parks is butter pecan and I have that from a cast member.  The butter pecan is terrific by the way.  Most of the quick service stops have sugar free brownies – I know Cosmic Ray’s does however, not the best.

Remember that sugar free does not mean low calorie

Bring an empty container to fill up at the water fountains.  Me?  I usually buy one bottle of water, save the containers for refills.

I think next time I will note all the shady spots and usually those are the smoking areas – they are at EPCOT.  In other words – if you are feeling a little off kilter GET OUT OF THE SUN.

You can send a special request to Disney once you make your dining reservations but be sure to add your special meal request whether you book online or over the phone.  You can also ask your server to speak with the chef for certain recommendations.  14 days prior to your dining reservation, you can send an email with questions:  Special.Diets@disneyworld.com

And here is the link for special dietary information https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/guest-services/special-dietary-requests/

I have searched high and low for a list of carb counts for foods at WDW or Disneyland resort and have not been successful.  My tip?  Be cautious, check and test your glucose level often, be hydrated with water – not soda, test your blood glucose again, and again.  Wear a hat, reapply sunscreen – keep all insulin in a cooler!

And yes, I had a terrific time – plan your attack, your agenda, your what I’m gonna’ do when I get there…be prepared, remember, it wasn’t raining when Noah built the ark.  OH!  That reminds me – I found $1 rain ponchos at a familiar store!  I bought all they had and now they are in the Disney travel supply box.  ‘Cuz if it happens – it will always happen to me.  Can we go again, PLEASE?!

This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment