Are you Feeling Dopey??? by Guest Contributor Tania Lamb

Have you heard the runDisney news? I told my daughter and even she couldn’t believe it!

surprised baby

The Dopey Challenge is OFFICIAL! Sorry to yell, but runDisney may be trying to kill us! And I like it. That’s 48.6 miles in one weekend. Nope, not a typo. Those who are up for the challenge will run the 5K,10K, Half Marathon, and Marathon during the 2014 Walt Disney World® Marathon Weekend presented by Cigna, January 8-12, 2014. The funny thing is that runDisney races are so fun and magical, Disney has me believing I could actually do this. My body is screaming, “No!” but my head is thinking, “6 medals!”

My first runDisney race was the Princess Half Marathon this year, and I loved it-crowds, heat, and all! I’ll be honest, I started running just so I could run at Disney and get my paws on that 5th Anniversary Princess medal. Now they are dangling 6 medals in front of me? You would get the Mickey Marathon medal, the Donald Half medal, the 5K Family Fun Run medal, the Goofy Challenge medal, the new Minnie 10K medal, and of course the new Dopey Challenge medal for finishing the 4 races.  Six lovelies!  No one does medals like Disney does medals. Will I accept this challenge? You betcha! Just not for 2014. 48.6 miles is no joke, and I know my body isn’t ready.

photo courtesy of rundisney.com

photo courtesy of rundisney.com

I like to joke that runDisney puts an addictive chemical in their races that makes you crave them fortnightly (So I Married an Axe Murderer, anyone?). Some call it pixie dust. However, I need to be realistic with my training goals and be prepared for that distance. Injury is not worth 6 medals. I mean it. I will definitely be there Marathon Weekend 2014, but my eyes are set on that inaugural Minnie 10K. A Minnie Medal! I cannot wait! I am also excited to be a chEARleader for those who are prepared to rock the Dopey.

Registration opens April 9! Get ready for it! I need to practice my typing skills, because I got left in the dust during registration time for the inaugural Dumbo Double Dare at Disneyland this year. For more information on the Dopey Challenge and on other runDisney races, just visit www.rundisney.com. Warning: it’s addictive!

Will you accept the Dopey challenge? Who will I see at Disney World’s Marathon Weekend? And is it too early to start planning my running costume?

Here’s a list of Entry Fees, so you can start saving your Disney dollars.

Walt Disney World® Marathon: $160 by June 18, 2013; $175 between June 19, 2013  and August 13, 2013; $190 on or after August 14, 2013

Walt Disney World® Half Marathon: $160 by June 18, 2013; $175 between June 19, 2013 and August 13, 2013; $190 on or after August 14, 2013

Goofy’s Race and a Half Challenge: $340 by June 18, 2013; $370 between June 19, 2013 and August 13, 2013; $400 on or after August 14, 2013

Walt Disney World® 10K: $95 by June 18, 2013; $110 between June 19, 2013 and August 13, 2013; $125 on or after August 14, 2013

Disney Family Fun Run 5K: $60 per participant

Dopey Challenge: $495 by June 18, 2013; $525 between June 19, 2013 and August 13, 2013; $555 on or after August 14, 2013

runDisney Kids Races: $15 per child

Mickey Mile: $30 per child

Race Retreat Packages: $120 Half Marathon Package; $120 Full Marathon Package; $200 Goofy’s Challenge Package

This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are you Feeling Dopey??? by Guest Contributor Tania Lamb

  1. Lady says:

    I cannot tell you how often that particular movie quote is used at my house and almost no one else knows what it’s from. You made my day. 🙂 (look at the size of that cranium! It’s like an orange on a toothpick!)

  2. Soffee P. Kravitz says:

    Think I’ll stand by and watch…..Running? I’d be stopping all the time to get pictures…besides, running to me is trying to get out of the rain in the Magic Kingdom….Best of Luck!

    • I know how you feel! I’m not a runner either but have family and friends who love it. Disney’s running events are great for spectators too – that’s where you’ll always find me – on the sidelines chEARing everyone on!

  3. Yes.. Dopey Challenge seems to be exciting! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Love your blog! I am not a runner but you actually got me excited about the Dopey Challenge!

Leave a comment